Music News Blog

What’s happening in the world of prog and other related scenes. News about gigs, record releases, new videos and band changes.

RIP Greg Lake

Another of the greats passes; Greg Lake, bassist and vocalist of ELP and King Crimson has left us at the age of 69.

He’s best known of course for Emerson Lake and Palmer, though his short tenure in the first incarnation of King Crimson runs it a very close second. “In The Court of the Crimson King” is one of those ground-breaking records that sounded quite unlike anything that had come before, and his soaring vocals were a big part of that. He also contributed to the follow-up “In the Wake of Poseidon” even though he’d left the band to join ELP at that point.

The wider public who aren’t familiar with the 1970s progressive rock canon probably know Greg Lake for his 1976 Christmas single “I Believe in Father Christmas”. Compared to the typical saccharine seasonal fare it’s surprisingly deep and thought provoking. It often gets described as dark and cynical with lines like “But instead it just kept on raining, a veil of tears for the virgin birth”. But I think there’s a positive message at the heart of it; Christmas is what we make of it.

So rest in peace, Greg, and thanks for all the music

Posted in Music News | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

Panic Room announce 2017 live dates


Panic Room have announced tour dates for 2017. They’re playing the following dates:

  • Friday March 17, HRH Prog V Festival at Hafan y Mor, Pwllheli
  • Friday May 19, The Robin 2, Bilston
  • Friday May 26, The Stables, Milton Keynes
  • Friday June 2, The Citadel, St Helens
  • Saturday June 3, The Corporation, Sheffield
  • Saturday June 17, Acapela, Cardiff
Posted in Music News | Tagged | 2 Comments

F.E.A.R and Loathing at The Royal Albert Hall


Marillion have announced a show at The Royal Albert Hall on Friday 13th October 2017. Tickets go on sale on Monday 5th December,

Posted in Music News | Tagged | Leave a comment

Papillon tour dates

Papillon, the acoustic duo of violinist Anna Phoebe and guitarist Nicholas Rizzi who supported Mostly Autumn on more than one occasion this year have a number of live dates scheduled across Spring and Summer 2017. They’re well worth seeing if you can catch any of these dates. Full datails on the Papillon website.

Posted in Music News | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Lazuli UK Tour Approaches

lazuli-tour-flyerFrench prog legends Lazuli, described as “Medieval blacksmiths from the future” hit the UK beginning this weekend.

The tour takes in Rotherham, Bristol, Bilston, Manchester, Southampton and London, and features the unique Léode, which looks like a cross between a keytar and a Chapman Stick, and sounds like an electronic cello.

Posted in Music News | Tagged | Leave a comment

Glenn Hughes announces new 2017 tour

Following the cancellation of his co-headline tour with Living Colour, Glenn Hughes has announced a new tour of smaller club venues inJanuary and February 2017 to promote his album “Resonate”.

He’s playing the following venues, with Stone Broken as special guests.

  • Friday 20 January- The Riverside, Newcastle
  • Saturday 21 January – Islington Assembly Hall, London
  • Monday 23 January – The Robin 2, Bilston
  • Tuesday 24 January – The Garage, Glasgow
  • Thursday 26 January – Rescue Rooms, Nottingham
  • Friday 27 January – O2 Academy 2, Manchester
  • Sunday 29 January – Sub 89, Reading
  • Monday 30 January – The Junction, Cambridge
  • Wednesdy 1 February – The Church, Leeds
  • Thusday 2 February – The Fleece, Bristol
Posted in Music News | Tagged | Leave a comment

Mark Rowen album promo

A short teaser promo for “Radience”, the forthcoming album from former Breathing Space guitarist Mark Rowen.

It boasts a very impressive cast list, including the former Breathing Space rhythm section of Paul Teasdale and Barry Cassells, plus Moray McDonald, Rob Cottingham, Guy Manning and many more.

Posted in Music News | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Coming Soon….


… to a Merch Desk near you…

Posted in Music News | Tagged | 1 Comment

Lonely Robot, Touchstone and Ghost Community for Trinity 2

Trinity Live 2 Poster

After the success of Trinity Live in 2014, the all-day progressive rock charity show at Leamington Assembly, they’re doing it again. This year’s bash wil feature Ghost Community, Touchstone and Lonely Robot, with more acts to be announced.

“It is with great pride and excitement we can announce, in association with Prog! magazine that Trinity will be back with a bang on Saturday 27thMay 2017. Put the date in your diaries folks and get ready to rock in support of some fantastic causes!

The venue will again be The Assembly in Leamington Spa. We have the lineup complete and we have many special events going on throughout the day. The day will be split in to 3 parts – the afternoon session, the evening session and the after show.

We are also delighted to announce that the headline act will be the amazing Lonely Robot. This is an exclusive as it will be first public performance of the all new, yet to be released, Lonely Robot II album. As many of you know, their performance in London in December 2015 was a sell out and featured a fantastic stage show. This full production will also be brought to the Trinity stage. To top it off, we can also announce that Touchstone and Ghost Community, will be part of the evening session. Three rocking bands to get you dancing in the aisles.
The afternoon bands will be announced very soon. The after show party will have a very special guest live performance plus one of Jerry Ewing’s infamous DJ sets. A fantastic way to end a fantastic day with the bands and the organisers! Jerry will have you bouncing around that dance floor, we promise.

With your amazing support, the first Trinity show enabled the organisers to donate £12,000 amongst three cancer charities, and next year we want to smash that figure out of the ball park. Each and everyone of us has been exposed to someone who has dealt with cancer so let’s pull together and help raise some serious money to allow amazing organisations to fight this vile disease.

Get them while they’re hot and please, let’s light up social media and make this an event that will shine brightly for years to come and which will continue to raise more money, every year it takes place. Through music, through love, through adversity, together we can all make a real different”

It it’s anything like as good as the last one, this will be a show well worth seeing. And it’s all in a good cause.

Posted in Music News | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Rebecca Downes announces live album


Rebecca Downes, winner of Best Emerging Artist and Best Female Vocalist in the British Blues Awards 2016, announces a live album Be:Live to be released on December 1st. Recorded at a variety of venues across 2015 and 2016, it presents a typical setlist from one of her electrifying live shows.

This is the track listing:

1. Never Gonna Learn
2. Walking With Shadows
3. Another Piece Of My Heart
4. Night Train
5. Long Long Time
6. Sweetness
7. Back To The Start
8. I’d Rather Go Blind
9. Basement Of My Heart
10. Sailing On A Pool Of Tears
11. Believe
12. 1000 Years
13. With A Little Help From My Friends.

Posted in Music News | Tagged | 1 Comment